















30/06/2025

Joint Statement on the EU-Ukraine Trade Agreement Update

We acknowledge today's announcement on the updated trade agreement between the European Union and Ukraine. Our sectors require certainty, predictability, and a genuine level playing field to remain viable.

While we support Ukraine's economic resilience and its European future during this difficult time, at this stage, considering the limited information provided, we can only hope that the final outcome of the agreement announced today fully considers and respects the sensitivities of EU farmers and manufacturers. In that sense, we urge the European Commission to make all details of this agreement available as soon as possible to the public.

While we look positively on some aspects presented today concerning the alignment of standards and safeguard mechanisms, including also the impact on Member State level, we remain concerned on the outcome on the protection of sensitive sectors, and the potential exclusion of some productions, such as barley or ethanol, from such mechanisms.

We eagerly await the full details of this new agreement in principle for further analysis and meanwhile wish to underline that a sustainable and fair partnership with Ukraine must protect both our farmers and manufacturers and our shared long-term goals.

On behalf of the following associations:

AVEC - Association of Poultry Processors and Poultry Trade in the EU countries

CEFS – European Association of Sugar Manufacturers

CEPM – European Confederation of Maize Production

CIBE – International Confederation of European Beet Growers

COPA-COGECA - The united voice of farmers and their cooperatives in the European Union

ePURE - European Renewable Ethanol Association

EUWEP - European Union of Wholesale with Eggs, Egg Products, Poultry and Game

iEthanol – European Industrial and Beverage Ethanol Association

-END-

For further information, please contact

Birthe Steenberg - Secretary General AVEC₁ELPHA₁EPB +32 492 10 75 71 <u>bs@avec-poultry.eu</u>

Catherine Jaworowska - Communication and Social Affairs Officer CEFS +32 2 774 51 07 catherine.jaworowska@cefs.org

Arthur Boy - Policy Advisor for economic affairs CEPM <u>arthur.boy@agpm.com</u> +33 6 79 05 78 31

Elisabeth Lacoste - Director CIBE +32 2 50 46 091 elisabeth.lacoste@cibe-europe.eu

Ksenija Simovic - Senior Policy Advisor COPA-COGECA +32 473 66 30 71 ksenija.simovic@copa-cogeca.eu

Bruno Menne - Director of Commodities COPA-COGECA +32 478 18 99 09 bruno.menne@copa-cogeca.eu

Simona Vackeova - Director of Government Affairs ePURE +32 2 609 50 54 vackeova@epure.org

Clara Hagen - Secretary General EUWEP +31 30 637 88 44 Clara.Hagen@euwep.org

Gabriela Tatian – Director of Government Affairs iEthanol +32 470 62 42 46 tatian@iethanol.eu